Wake Up And Smell The Coffee

by Bella Rum

Originally written – Monday, August 20, 2007

After waking around five this morning, I went into the kitchen to make the coffee. I set it up and turned it on. Then I went about my business doing a few other things.

A short while later I returned to the kitchen, poured a cup of coffee, and proceeded to put the Equal and milk in my cup. Being the sharp cookie that I am, I realized immediately that all I had was a cup of hot water. No coffee. I looked into the filter and yep…you guessed it. I had forgotten to put the coffee in the filter.

I then dumped the hot water out of the carafe, replaced it with cold, and poured it into the back of the coffee maker for the second time. This time I went a step further and actually put coffee in the filter, turned the coffee maker on, and once again I went about my business.

A few minutes later I returned to the kitchen to find hot coffee running all over the counter, down the cabinets, and onto the floor. I had neglected to close the filter container completely. I had shoved it in the right direction but had not finished the job.

Coffee, coffee everywhere and nary a drop to drink.

