Week #8

by Bella Rum

It was bound to happen sooner or later. This was the first week I actually gained weight since I turned over my new leaf.

Could it have been the filet mignon, or possibly the shrimp and scallops in a buttery garlic sauce? Perhaps it was the delicious cake with pecans and cinnamon and a sugary glaze, or maybe it was the southern breakfast of bacon, sausage, ham, tender scrambled eggs, buttery, light biscuits and homemade hash brown potatoes. Oops, I almost forgot the creamy chocolate pie with whipped cream on top. No, that probably wasn’t the problem. I think it was the tossed salad, marinated vegetable salad and fresh fruit.

That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

If I had only stuck to my plan of enjoying only one over-the-top meal, maybe I wouldn’t have gained weight this week, but that’s not exactly how it played out. I’ve always had a problem with minimal indulgence. It seems like an oxymoron to me. After all, if I could indulge on a minimal basis, I wouldn’t have this fat a#*. Once I fall off the wagon, I have a difficult time climbing back on. I should know this by now.

I have to admit that the food was wonderful, but I didn’t feel well for several days after eating with such abandon. I won’t go into all of the bodily functions or should I say malfunctions – constipation, heartburn, unladylike burping, flatulence, etc. I know. I said I wouldn’t go into it. Suffice it to say that I’m back on track now, and hopefully the scales will be a little kinder next week.

Weekly Change ~ Gained 1.5 pound
Total Weight Loss ~ 10 pounds
Average Weekly Weight Loss ~ 1.25 pounds

