Lovin’ In The Trenches

by Bella Rum

Both of us had a bad day yesterday, not tragic, but filled to the brim with lousy. There are few days in the year when H sees his cup as half empty. In general, he has an upbeat nature. He seldom worries about anything that isn’t going to still be a bother two years from now. He’s a big picture sort of guy.

I, on the other hand, can’t see the forest for the trees. I’m involved in the details. I grouse over spilled milk – literally. I bet I could convince you that it’s the end of the world as you know it. Forget about climate change, oil spills, or world hunger, this damn milk is a genuine catastrophe of the great flood type. Start building an ark!

Our differences work for us most of the time.

When I called H yesterday to tell him my computer was misbehaving, he was already annoyed about something. Then he was really annoyed about the computer when I told him, which isn’t like him. Illness, death, fire, famine – these are things that get H’s attention, but only to see if they warrant real concern. Then he puts them on a list and checks back a week later to see if they’ve resolved themselves.

He doesn’t sweat the small stuff. Computer problems either get repaired, or they fix themselves, or one gets a new computer. If it must be done, it must be done. You just do what’s needed, and live with it. It isn’t worth wasting time on things that are out of your control.

So I’m listening to him grouse on the phone, and I suddenly realize how it must be for him to listen to me. Holy moley.

Later last night, he walks into the bedroom, and I’m on the computer. He says something or other, and I think, he’s still feeling lousy about something. I turn to give him a hug. I open my arms, and he opens his, and we begin to embrace, and it’s all sweet and good when we both suddenly realize ….. he’s holding Dad’s urinal in one hand. What’s wrong with this picture? What can I say. That’s how things go around here.

I’ve told you before, a person can get used to anything.19537569302

