The Witching Hour

by Bella Rum

fathertime

The whites of my eyeballs are visible. That’s because I’m awake. I woke at 3 AM, the time that many believe to be the true witching hour, not midnight. When asked, most people say that when they wake in the night, the clock says 3. Christ was supposed to have died on the cross at 3 PM. So 3 AM is the exact opposite.

If you believe this sort of thing, the powers of witches and demons and ghosts are apparently at their peak at this hour, and it’s the best time to practice black magic if you’re so inclined. I’m not. The number three also represents the Maiden, Mother, Crone in the Pagan religion and Father, Son and Holy Ghost in the Christian religion. Are you trembling yet?

I don’t know about any of this, but I do know that three o’clock is usually the time I see on the clock when I wake in the middle of the night.

…but then it could be biorhythms. I know even less about that than the witching hour. I think I’ve written about this witching hour thing before… Sorry. Short term memory loss rears its ugly head, or maybe not. Can’t remember.

It’s after 4:30 now. Time to go back to bed and try again. I have to get up in a few hours and go to the grocery store and then see what we can accomplish today. I think H want’s to install some smoke alarms before C moves in. Brand new. They’ve been in the box for almost three years. Bad…I know.

