The Visitation

by Bella Rum

marleysghost_2

Image: The spirit of Jacob Marley

It was an enjoyable weekend, but I ate too much. We spent Halloween with friends. They ordered pizza. It was the kiss of death in so many ways I can’t even count. If you can get past the calories (which I can’t), then you have to take into account the spiciness. I love spicy food – always have – but it no longer loves me. Just as Ebenezer Scrooge received a visit from the spirit of Jacob Marley on Christmas Eve, the spirit of my pizza revisited me on All Hallows’ Eve.

Other than that Mrs. Lincoln, how was the play?

It was great fun. We did a little walk about the neighborhood. It was 74 degrees. I can’t recall a warmer Halloween. When I was a kid, we used to layer our clothes and wear two pairs of socks, and my feet were still frozen by the end of the evening. I wore a thin t-shirt on Saturday night, and I was sweating by the end of the evening.

Today will be a tedious day. H gets the basal cell removed from his face. I’ll be cooling my heels in the waiting room. I know. Poor me. H is the one undergoing the procedure, but still… I can’t stand waiting. I’m taking a book. Two books. One large print book and an audio book for when the words start running together. Wednesday will be worse. They’ll do the ear, and that will take 3 to 4 hours.

I know some of you probably hate the Yankees, but Dad is in heaven. Just passing it along. Heaven!

