MediterrAsian.com

by Bella Rum

We’ve been eating ridiculously healthfully for months now. H’s doctor was thrilled at his last checkup. He hasn’t even been trying to lose weight, but he was down six pounds. His cholesterol has dipped even lower and his blood pressure was down to 120/80.

Question: How do men lose weight when they aren’t even trying? Color me green.

My daughter-in-law told me about a new website that I’m enjoying very much. New to me anyway. MediterrAsian.com/ is just what it sounds like. It offers recipes that use ingredients found in Mediterranean and Asian countries. It also teaches you how to stock a pantry with authentic ingredients of Asia and the Mediterranean, and it includes a printable shopping list. 

We’ve tried two recipes. Both were salads: Baked Feta & Walnut Salad and Tuna & Chickpea Salad. The chickpea salad was my favorite of these two. I omitted the tuna and added some diced red bell peppers and celery for crunch. I think a few black olives would be nice, too. I used cherry tomatoes instead of chopping whole tomatoes.

The longer we eat this way, the more I wonder why we didn’t start sooner. The benefits are undeniable.

