what people spend their money on…

by Bella Rum

Kenmore 4.5 with power mate

Tell the truth. Aren’t you just a little intrigued by how other people spend their money? Even more interesting is what they refuse to spend it on. I know you’ve driven by one of those houses with a leaky roof and sagging shutters and two new cars parked in the driveway.

What shiny, new object entices you to part with your hard-earned cash? I know someone who prides herself on saving 10 cents on a loaf of bread or can of tuna. She’s a bargain hunter of the highest order and never pays retail for anything. I can’t tell you the bargains she’s gotten on appliances, computers, shoes, etc. She frequently talks about her bargains, and you can tell she’s very proud. It is a talent, I must say. Yet she loses thousands every year gambling, and she buys a new Cadillac every three years.

From her perspective I spend way too much money because I don’t mind throwing down four bucks for a loaf of 7-grain bread at the farmer’s market or buying my fruits and vegetables from local farmers instead of Walmart. However, I drive the same car for 10 years, and (yup) that’s my 20-year-old vacuum up there. As you can see, I spend some of my money on duct tape.

Our relationships with money couldn’t be more different. Why? It’s obvious, isn’t it? We value different things. We’re both willing to pay for them. It’s all about what’s worthy of your money and what you believe will make you happy. Ut, oh. Did I just say the “H” word? Oh, man! That’s another whole post. Can money buy happiness or impulsive/emotional spending.

Anyway.

It’s not so  much about right or wrong – assuming you can afford your choices. I mean it’s intolerable for someone to buy beer when the baby doesn’t have shoes. We all know that. Right? We do agree on that. But we probably don’t agree on much else about how to spend our money. One man’s trash is another man’s treasure and all that… but I’m pretty sure a loaf of 7-grain bread is better than a new Cadillac. No? Well, it’s pretty darn close.

I think it’s time to spend some of my money on a new vacuum. If you have any suggestions, I’d appreciate the input.

