jobs

by Bella Rum

This is my job now – one of them. Once upon a time, when a woman said she was ‘doing laundry,’ she was actually doing something that required action. We still have to fold it and put it away, but a rock and a stream are no longer necessary. I’m good with that.

H still works about three days a week. The other night he told me he was thinking about quitting, but he hasn’t made up his mind yet. A few days ago, I read another blog that suggested that the decision to quit working is a process. I think that’s about right for a lot of people. I, however, had no problem quitting my job when we left Maryland. Throw me in that brier patch.

H retired (was downsized) a few years ago, but nowadays most retirees still work at part-time jobs for a while after retirement from their ‘real’ jobs. H has worked since he was a kid, and I think it’s hard for him to imagine himself not working somewhere for at least a few days a week. My guess is that he’s sifting though some things, trying to come up with what he wants. I suspect that learning about the issues with my heart may have pushed this train out of the station – not that this means he has to quit working, but sometimes such events are a catalyst for change. By the way, I spoke with my doctor yesterday, and the heart monitor did detect some problems. I’ll see a cardiologist soon.

Meanwhile, due to cutbacks, a close friend lost her job months ago. She’s still searching and feeling the pressure. If you think it’s difficult to find a job out there, try being over 60. Yep. Not so easy.

Several months ago another company bought the company my son works for, and heads have rolled ever since. His neck felt very much like that of a chicken about to go on the chopping block. Concerned that his days were numbered, he recently found a position with another company that’s similar to his current job.

Their new home will be quite different from where they live now. They’re in a condo up in the sky. They have to pull the strollers out, pack up 73 items, and walk for a stretch or catch the subway if they want the kids to see grass. Grass is important stuff.
Not that I think everyone should live in the burbs. I do not, but it will be easier with the kids. They’ll be near a mid-size city in the Midwest, hopefully for a long and happy stay. Culture shock much? Even though it’s farther away from us, it will be a good thing for their family life, and that’s what airplanes were invented for – to visit grandchildren.

