our unscheduled day

by Bella Rum

We woke to light snow yesterday, and H didn’t have to work. That meant we had an unexpected and unscheduled day on our hands. What to do?

We decided to go to lunch at our friend’s restaurant. She’s the daughter of my closest and oldest friend. I’ve known her since she was a baby. I wrote about her new restaurant a few months ago. I had a bucketful of concerns, the economy being only one of them.  I’m happy to report that the place is booming.

She took a faltering business and one of the most difficult types of businesses to make a ‘go’ in, and turned it into a thriving neighborhood hot spot in the midst of a terrible economic downturn. I know how dedicated and gifted this young woman is, but she had so much against her. It gave me pause, but she pulled it off. Few new businesses are doing as well as this one after having their doors open for only four months. She’s actually had an offer to buy it.

So, H and I ordered the Packer Burger – a huge, charbroiled burger, topped with sautéed onions and crumbled bleu cheese. Yes, there were fries – the fat kind. I only ate half of my burger. Believe me, it was more than enough. H finished off the other half for dinner with some leftover sautéed cabbage from the fridge. The cabbage was inspired by Susan of Bear Swamp Reflections. I usually boil my cabbage, but we enjoyed it very much this way.

By all accounts, it was a very nice unscheduled day, and delicious in more ways than one.

Listening to Norah Jones tonight – Turn Me On

