Pinch, Pinch, Pinch!

by Bella Rum

My editor is fickle about paragraphs today, hence the odd periods scattered about.

I had a disturbing dream last night. Don’t worry. She’s not going off on a tangent about some lengthy, boring, detailed dream.  It’s short.

I was standing on the dock and looking down into the water at a huge cage of lobsters. A young woman fell off the dock and into the cage. The lobsters went into a frenzy and swarmed over her helpless body, pinching flesh on every inch of her frame. Some people pulled her out immediately. As her pitiful body emerged from the water, the lobsters refused to release their torturous grip. Swaying to and fro as water sheeted off the girl and the crustaceans, the lobsters continued to painfully squeeze her flesh. She was aflame in tormented agony. *jeez*

What the heck was that about?

A couple of things have been on my mind lately. H went for a company checkup, and the company doc found a couple of things. He told H that he detected a hernia (you know where). Not the end of the world, but H and I had a few words because he lifts TOO MUCH at work. I keep telling him that his excellent health depends on his ability to exercise. I worry about injuries. He’s not safety conscious enough to suit me. This wouldn’t prevent exercise, I guess, but I still felt that it was a sign that he was lifting TOO MUCH.

The other thing the doc found was troubling, and of course, I chew on troublesome things till they explode in my head, and turn into monster lobsters that ravage the human body. The doctor said he heard a calcium deposit in H’s right lung. HEARD??

While calcium deposits in the lung are usually benign (non-cancerous), they can become malignant. Calcium deposits should be monitored both to prevent cancer, and because many of the conditions that cause calcification are also serious.

Many calcium deposits don’t require medical treatment (they can even be reabsorbed right back into your body). In the lungs, however, they can be a sign that you have a serious underlying condition that is causing them to form.

To make all of this a tiny bit more dramatic, we’re in the midst of applying for long-term care insurance. Can you imagine the premium if this turned out to be something serious, that is, if they would agree to cover us at all? H already had an appointment on the books with his physician this morning. He just returned and said that his doctor listened and listened and told him he could only hear a whooshing sound that is perfectly normal, and get this, he doesn’t have a hernia. Perfectly balanced, don’t cha know?

.

And maybe something good came out of it. H has a tendency to think he’s invincible. He says he’s going to be much more cautious about lifting. We’ll see. And he’ll have a diagnostic test (probably a CAT scan) just to be 100% certain that his lungs are clear. We’ll have to pay for it because our insurance is $2000. out-of-pocket. That’s okay.

.

Bullet dodged!

.

The second bothersome thing involves Dad. After a couple of phone conversations in which he told me he wasn’t feeling well, H and I drove down to check on him last week. C and I felt that he needed to see the doctor. We made an appointment for the following day. By the time I got home, The Brother called and said he had visited Dad and he seemed fine to him. I told him that I didn’t want to wait till it morphed into pneumonia. He reluctantly agreed to take Dad to the doctor the following day. By the next morning, C agreed with The Brother and canceled the appointment. *holy cow* I should have just driven down there and taken care of it myself, and

I would have if they’d given me that option. *gerr*

.

I was overruled. So I let it go, telling myself that I wasn’t there and they were and maybe they knew better…

.

Yesterday, C was all apologetic and feeling very guilty. She said that Dad was feeling terrible and coughing up huge chunks of stuff and she never should have canceled the appointment. So the appointment is back on the calendar.

I’m relieved. His doctor will give him something that will help and he’ll feel better soon. No more lobster dreams.

