Have you seen my lost hour? It’s been missing for more than seven months!

by Bella Rum

You’ll see a number of reminders about daylight saving time today. I decided to add mine to the list. It’s time to fall back (in most of the US)! Daylight saving time comes to an end at 2 a.m. Sunday.  As promised, we’ll finally regain that hour we lost in March.

I have the sense that I cannot afford to fritter away any more of my hours. There can’t possibly be enough time left to do all that I thought I’d do. The hours (my hours!) are disappearing more rapidly and resolutely than those gallons of water that pour relentlessly over Niagara Falls. I want to scream, stop! But there is no stopping. They ignore my appeals as they roll inexorably into that vast chasm of spent hours.  Life is too short, or is it?

“It is not that we have a short space of time, but that we waste much of it. Life is long enough, and it has been given in sufficiently generous measure to allow the accomplishment of the very greatest things if the whole of it is well invested.” – Lucius Seneca

Rich or poor, young or old, we all get the same twenty-four hours in each day, and we all have a shot at that “average lifespan.” Is it enough? It doesn’t feel like it’s enough, but Lucius Seneca tells us that it’s “sufficiently generous” if we use it wisely. Even the briefest life can make an immeasurable difference. We can never know how deep is the mark we leave on the world, how far-reaching the ripple. So it isn’t whether we lose an hour or gain an hour; it’s whether we use the hour wisely, whether we use our lives wisely.

I can’t sleep tonight so I’m spending this hour with you. I hope  you enjoy your extra hour tomorrow.

