Feet Up, Head Back, Living is Easy

by Bella Rum

I didn’t sleep well last night. I woke around 1:30, crawled back in bed around 5:00 and slept until almost 8:00. Surprisingly, I woke with an abundance of energy. I couldn’t believe it, but I think the weather had something to do with it. I walked out on the deck with my tea and couldn’t believe how beautiful it was. The grass was green, the red buds and periwinkle were blooming and the birds were singing.

I immediately ran upstairs and got dressed. Then I filled a bucket with hot water and Pine-Sol and headed outside. I washed the winter skin off the white railings around the porch. Mildew grows on them every winter and it’s my job to make them pretty again. Mainly because I care and H would rather dig a hole or shovel mulch or rake leaves. It felt so good to be outside and doing something.

Then I went upstairs and showered and returned to the deck, pulled a chair into the shade and stuck the earbuds in to listen to a book. It was heaven, and I’m sorry you all weren’t there with me. That’s assuming you’d have your own book and could be quiet.

I hope it was beautiful where you were today. I really do.

