A Cautionary Tale

by Bella Rum

I’m sitting in the Mohs waiting room of H’s Mohs Micrographic Surgeon. He has another basal cell. This time it’s on his nose. This method takes hours, but the results are worth the wait. The doctor removes the least amount possible and the tissue is biopsied while we wait. If the area is clear, she closes. If not, she continues the process.

There are people all around me with big bandages covering various sections of their faces where plugs of flesh have been scooped out. H has a Pinocchio nose now, his big, old bandage giving it a bulbous appearance. I know. Pinocchio’s nose was more pointy than bulbous, but you get my meaning.

I’m not trying to be mean, but I wasn’t joking in the title.

H and I spent our childhoods in the sun. Of course, that’s when most damage occurs. No one thought much about sunscreen back then. Crazy, I know. Nowadays, most  moms wouldn’t even think about spending an afternoon poolside without putting sunscreen on the kids.

They have nice snacks here. It’s killing me. Good coffee,too. Okay, I’m out of here. I can’t believe H has been parted from his iPad this long. This is the longest he has ever ALLOWED me to use it. Relax, Pinnocchio nose!

