Peach Cobbler

by Bella Rum

Here’s the recipe for that peach cobbler. The recipe called for 3 cups of sugar, but I thought that was way over the top. I only used 2 cups, and it was sweet enough for this sugarholic. I could have even gone with a little less, but it is dessert. I used a smaller (11×7) baking dish than called for. It didn’t seem to require the (13×9). I used the box of Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust. Believe it or not, this was a first for me. I usually make my own, but this was the easy way. Nothing wrong with that. I would gladly link to a recipe but I changed it quite a bit.

Peach Cobbler

Ingredients

14 to 16 fresh peaches, peeled and sliced
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 cups sugar (more if you wish)
2 tablespoons butter
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1(14.1-oz.) package refrigerated pie crusts (I used Pillsbury)
1 egg

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 450°. Stir together peaches, flour, nutmeg, and sugar in a Dutch oven. Bring to a boil over medium heat; reduce heat to low, and simmer a couple of minutes (just enough to let the flour thicken the mixture a little). Remove from heat; stir in vanilla. Spoon mixture into a lightly greased 13 x 9-inch baking dish (I used an 11×7-inch baking dish. It was big enough.). Slice butter into pats and place on top of peach mixture.

2. Unroll one cold pastry sheet on floured surface (You can use both if necessary. I only used one). Roll the dough out with a rolling-pin until it’s long enough for a few strips to fit the longest part of your pan. You’re going for an oblong shaped disk. The middle of the disk will give you the longest strips. Use the outer strips for the shorter part of your baking dish. Slice strips about 1/2 to 3/4 inch wide. Make a lattice pattern on top of the cobbler (video follows). Brush lightly with one beaten egg.

3. Bake at 450° for 20 to 25 minutes or until crust is lightly browned and filling is bubbling. Serve with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream or just dig in.
How to make a lattice pie crust.

