news of a move

by Bella Rum

The kids arrived yesterday. The little ones are happy and excited to be at Grandpa and Nona’s house. The oldest (6) is enchanted by our attic. It makes me a little sorry we cleaned it out, but there’s still plenty up there for her to sift through. We’ll be hitting it again shortly. We’ll eventually discard EVERYTHING we don’t need. The plan is to pare down to our skivvies and one toothbrush.

My son and DIL seem relaxed and happy. While eating steaks off the grill, chickpea salad and crusty bread, my son said, “We have news for you.” Always the pessimist, I stopped with my fork midway to my mouth and said, “If it’s bad, don’t tell me until I finish this steak.” My DIL said, “I’m pregnant.” We all laughed, some of us more nervously than others.

He was offered a job on the East Coast. I’m nervous about writing about this. I don’t want to jinx it. It isn’t final until all the I’s have been dotted, but the salary has been negotiated, and he’s been assured the job is his. The interview process was brutal. I don’t think that’s uncommon now. Employers can afford to be picky with so many applicants for the same position. He had eight different interviewers for one job.

They decided about a year ago that they wanted to move closer to both sets of grandparents. This job will be much closer than the Midwest or NYC, and though it’s similar to what he does now, it’s a new industry. He’s very excited about that, and my DIL is thrilled about getting back to the East Coast.

They will be less than two hours from my DIL’s parents and three from us. This is wonderful for everyone concerned. I can have my grandchildren on weekends, I can take them to plays and zoos and share Halloween with them and all those other grandma-type things as they grow up . They won’t be next door, but they won’t be over a thousand miles away either. That, my friends, is progress.

When they moved so far away, they didn’t realize the isolation they would feel. My son told me it was the first time he’d been homesick since he moved out after college.  Over the past few years, I’ve noticed an increase in his interest in his parents. The nature of our conversations has shifted. We used to be the ones asking all the questions about his life and job and family and happiness. Suddenly he’s more interested in who we are and where we came from and what matters to us, and in turn where he came from. An interesting turnabout.

Last night, my granddaughter asked if she and I could take a walk. She grabbed the flashlights and I could see the adventure seeking gene present itself in her eyes (not inherited from me). So we walked around the cul-de-sac a few times and she rode the big wheel a little. We could hear the crickets and a frog and the train whistled in the distance and there was a crescent moon – the perfect amount of adventure for each of us.

