Water Damage, Air Movers, Mold and Other Yucky Things

by Bella Rum

The workers were here all day yesterday. They pulled up the hardwoods in the foyer. As it turns out, not only do we have water damage under the floor in the foyer, but there’s damage under the kitchen floor, too. If I’m going to be honest, I have to admit this is not an unhappy revelation. The water only affected one little corner of the kitchen, but it doesn’t matter. The entire floor must be removed. I hated that floor and wanted to change it anyway.

kitchen floor, foyer floor and noisy air mover

We have four of those “air movers” situated around the foyer and two in the garage. Looks just like a fan, doesn’t it? Well, that’s because it IS a fan, but they prefer the term “air mover.” Who am I to argue with professionals? However, I’m here to tell you they sound like the flyboys taking off at Langley when I was a kid, but not nearly as good-looking. Why are those guys so cute?

Just so you know (and I’m sure you do), you MUST have all affected areas (floors, walls, etc.) removed, dried and treated for mold when you get water damage. Mold can grow under there and it can be dangerous and no good for you. Not one little bit. No siree.

Symptoms

  • Coughing
  • Sneezing
  • Runny nose
  • Allergic-type reactions
  • Headache
  • Trouble breathing or shortness of breath
  • Itchy, watery eyes
  • Sore throat
  • Depression
  • Fatigue
  • General feeling of malaise

I’ve had that last one since 1969. That was the year I married H. Hmm. Connect those dots.

Nasty bacteria can also get in there, but we’re not going into that. Mold is enough to scare the bajungies out of you.

Here’s the toilett! Can you tell that I love me some red? The air movers are SOOOO noisy. For once, I’m glad we live in a two-story house. I’m staying up here with the door closed until the hammering begins. Yes, there will be hammering. They’ve promised me. Then I’m going shopping or something. Fan noise I will tolerate but NO hammering.

Note: The carpet on the stairs looks so clean in that first shot. Don’t believe your lying eyes.

