A Soup Recipe for You

by Bella Rum

therealstoryofstonesoup1eWe visited the Grand Trio this weekend and attened our oldest granddaughter’s school play. The first graders traveled around the world, breathing life into a different story for each continent – except Antarctica. Apparently Antarctica is story-less. One of the stories they performed was Stone Soup. Do you remember that story? There are several versions. This is the one I’m most familiar with.

Strangers arrive in a village with nothing but an empty soup pot. They are hungry, and they ask the villagers if they could spare a bit of food. The strangers are repeatedly refused, the villagers claiming they have no food, not even a scrap. The strangers bring their pot to the middle of the square, build a fire and add a stone. With great curiosity, the villagers gather round and ask, “What are you doing?” The strangers tell them they are making the most delicious stone soup and all they need is some water. A couple of the villagers offer to bring water from a stream. “Alas, if we only had a carrot, it would be perfection,”  one of the strangers says. One of the villagers pipes up and offers, “I think I have a carrot.” He retrieves the carrot and offers it for the soup. Then one of the strangers says, “Oh, if we only had a potato.” And of course a villager offers a potato, and before long the pot is full of all kinds of delicious things that the villagers suddenly remember they have. What could not be accomplished alone is accomplished by the group when it cooperates and shares. The sum is greater than its parts and all are fed from one little stone.

While waiting for the performance to begin, I read the program and saw that the “Stone Soup” story would be performed. I asked my son if he remembered the story. He did not. I told him it was presented under the guise of cooperation and sharing, but it was really communist propaganda. I was rewarded with a snort.

How witty could I be? The auditorium was hellishly hot, and we were packed like sweating sardines. Whenever I’m waiting/bored/uncomfortable, I try to humor myself, but sweaty-slick is not conducive to my best game. The most useful thing about the program was that it doubled as a fan. If I’d had a popsicle stick and some tape, I would have had a project to entertain myself (instead of cracking bad jokes) while waiting for my serving of stone soup.

One thing on which we all agree, my granddaughter is a regular Sarah Bernhardt. Her two lines proved it. And would I travel two hours and sit in a boiling-hot auditorium for an hour to see it again? Yes. Yes, I would. Where do I sign?

We went to Cheesecake Factory after the play. Did you know they have a “SkinnyLicious” menu? You did? I didn’t. I have to get out more. I got the chopped salad. I was afraid to eat real food after sitting in Hell for the previous hour. The kids (when I say “the kids” I’m referring to my son and DIL) ordered appetizers so I ate one crab puff or ball or whatever. Do you know how hard it is to eat ONE crab puff when you’re in MD? Next time I go there, forget the “SkinnyLicious” menu, I’m ordering the crab puff/ball appetizer (6 puffs) and a small salad for my lunch. Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. That’s all I’m sayin’.

In other news…IMG_2815

Well, hasn’t H been the busy boy. He FINALLY installed the microwave last week. Methinks someone spent more time reading the directions and contemplating the job than it took to do the job, however, it heats my coffee to the perfect temp and I’m happy. And you do know how I love a man who can fix and install and repair. It looks all fancy, but it was the least expensive one in Best Buy that would fit our space. We had to get a new refrigerator and a new microwave during the month of May, but who’s counting? My dryer is now making a squealing noise when it first starts. I swear! I do not make this stuff up. We have no warranty on it.

The Real Story of Stone Soup by Ying Chang Compestine really is a lovely story.

