the cure for anxiety and insomnia and possibly fatigue and depression

by Bella Rum

WordItOut-Word-cloud-238943That title makes me sound like a snake oil salesman, but I’m not selling anything. That should work in my favor, right?

I’m waking in the middle of the night. Not all that unusual, but that sense of foreboding, and that feeling that something evil this way comes is back. This recurring nocturnal event is no trip to Disney Land. It’s a pretty terrible thing.

A few nights ago, I woke and the monster was back. I went to the bathroom and tried to shake it off. Sometimes that works. I often come in here and visit you guys or write for a while. Sometimes that works, but nothing worked that night. So, I found my iPod and tuned into some meditation-type music* that I downloaded a couple of weeks ago. I tried to relax, and I started the breathing technique my yoga instructor taught me. Within minutes I was asleep. I’ve done this ever since. I slept till seven o’clock this morning. That’s unheard of in my world.

I’m a longtime, hardcore insomniac. I don’t know if this will continue to work for me, but it’s working for now. I would not buy this hook, line and sinker if I read it on a blog, but it’s harmless and cheap and simple. So there you have it. Just listen to soothing music and pay attention to your breathing. If you focus on each breath, you won’t think of big, bad monsters that aren’t even there anyway… well, maybe they aren’t. You never really know what’s under that bed. So keep you legs and arms tucked in and sweet dreams to ya.

*A long and gentle rainstorm on a tin roof will do just as well… if you can get it.

Make your own word cloud here.

