One More Time with Feeling

by Bella Rum

IMG_5997We invited ‘the carpet people’ to visit again. They cleaned the carpets in two bedrooms, the office and the stairs and hallway. Boy, was that an improvement. Leaving the beds and the desk in place, H emptied all the rooms of all their contents before the guys arrived, and moved them into our room. That made it easier for them to do their job. They will come one more time to do our bedroom.

IMG_6005

FYI: You may already know how handy these furniture sliders are. Put them under the corners of huge, heavy furniture, and a little old lady can move it across the room. Fabulous! 

When we woke on Saturday morning, like a big shot, he says, “Baby, I’m gonna take you to the dump today.” You would have thought he’d said, “Hey, little girl, I’m gonna take you to Tiffany’s today.” Anyone who’s been reading here for awhile knows how much I love a trip to the dump or Goodwill. 🙂 What can I say? There’s nothing quite like leaving behind a pile of junk that we don’t need anymore. He loaded up his little truck with all the limbs that fell during that straight-line wind a few weeks ago. He had piled them in the woods behind our house. All gone now.

We are still purging. Can I pause for a moment and brag about our persistence in the purging category? We are verging on excellence in this arena, but there is plenty that still needs to GO. We are getting down to the nitty-gritty in some areas – like the file cabinets. This is where the boys are separated from the men, the chaff from the wheat, the normals from the hoarders.  Do you know how long it takes to go through old files? And one of us  (‘H’) loves to save every piece of paper that he touches.

IMG_6010

He saved our first joint (1969) return. I made about $3500 and he made $8000. But to put it in perspective, a loaf of bread was $0.23, a stamp was $0.06 and….. wait for it…. gas was $0.35 a gallon. You could buy a new car for $3400. and an average house cost about $28,000. Sorry about that, but I couldn’t resist listing all of those. I was alive then, and I can’t believe it. As ‘they’ are wont to say, we had more buying power in those days.

We took a credenza that was in the office and most of its contents to Goodwill. It’s so easy to make a huge impact when you first begin to purge. It’s satisfying to rid yourself of big pieces of old furniture or huge picture frames and mirrors and box after box of Christmas decorations, old toys, broken lamps and used-one-time-only rice makers and exercise bikes and duplicate tools, but we did all that last year. It’s much less appealing to go through old files – one page at a time – and toss bits and pieces of paper – one sheet at a time. Where’s the adrenalin rush there?

And if I have to look at one more photo of H’s old girlfriends, I’m going to gag. There they are – frozen in time, perfect skin, fresh, perky, small-breasted little cherubs – as pretty as little baby ducks all in a row. He didn’t have to watch them grow old. I asked him how he ended up with a big-boobied gal like me after all those perky young girls.

“Lucky, I guess.”

Good answer.

We’re going to look at a house and a condo today. I’m ambivalent about moving. I know we need a smaller, low-maintenance, first-floor-bedroom sort of house, but I hate moving. Most people do. It’s up there on the stress meter. I keep telling myself that no one is forcing me. If I decide I don’t want to, I can always change my mind.

Change… change… change… When will it ever stop? I guess we all know the answer to that one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

