Silliness, Snowden and Two Recipes

by Bella Rum

You can fool some of the people all of the time, and all of the people some of the time, but you can not fool all of the people all of the time. — Abraham Lincoln IMG_7111

I burned my thumb yesterday while removing a plate from the microwave. There was nothing to do but wrap my hand around this cool, soothing, high-antioxidant mango margarita. A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do. So delicious.

H is playing golf with my brother-in-law. It looks like it’s going to pour rain any minute. It’s dark and gloomy, and the air is thick with humidity, but they never cancel. The only thing that stops them is lightning or when they wake to a snow-covered course. You know how they say, “too hot to mow the grass but not too hot to play golf.”

Did you see Snowden’s interview with Brian Williams last night? There’s a lot of chatter this morning about his questions, especially the ones he didn’t ask. I definitely wanted more piercing questions: Is your apartment spacious, light and airy? Have you hooked up yet? Have you found a great barbecue place in your neighborhood? Chinese?

I guess it sounds a little shallow, but I’d like to know how he’s coping in his new invironment. He claims to be “adapting” but I think he sounds like he misses home a lot for someone who says he can adapt.

It was interesting to see Snowden sitting with his almost radio voice and retro 1950’s look, and I appreciated the opportunity to judge his demeanor. I was sucked in. I definitely was, but then you have to take into account how easy I am. I can’t walk past the television without going slack-jawed when Grease is on, or those deep-sea-creature/baboons-in-the-wild-type shows.

They were all aflutter about it on television this morning, but you’re never going to satisfy everyone with an interview like that. Still. I’d like to know what kind of tree he would be.

Let’s get serious. Let’s talk diet… as in… I can’t do it. What is the matter with me? I’d like to make one point. I don’t think it’s fair for Mother Nature to give me this appetite along side this metabolism. Not right. Wait. I think I just blamed Mother Nature for something that isn’t her domain. Well, whoever passes out appetites really screwed up on me.

My neighbor got her real estate license recently, and I think she heard H and I talking about our real estate adventures while on the deck. I don’t know, but she suddenly started talking about how she only wants to help people and how another neighbor’s house is coming on the market in September and she will be his Realtor. Awkward.

Another recipe for you.

IMG_6785

This barbecue sauce is so very good – finger-lickin’ good. Not your Southern sauce but very tasty.

IMG_6781

~

IMG_6798

Set some sauce aside to pass with the kabobs.

IMG_6811

It has a sweet & sour thing going on. We made it with chicken and fresh pineapple shish kabobs first, and I marinated the chicken in some yogurt for a couple of hours. It makes it tender. I made some slow-baked pork chops the other night and sauced them up with it. It might even be good with grilled shrimp kabobs. Tyler Florence’s Chicken and Pineapple Skewers

