A Lot About Nothing

by Bella Rum

image1
dawn breaking in my bedroom – taken with iPad

I’m sitting here with the iPad – a friendly bed companion. I tossed and turned for hours last night, trying to find sleep.When I finally fell asleep, it was only to wake a few minutes later. I repeated this cycle for hours. I finally slept but only for a few hours, and here I’ve been since about 2:30. It’s almost 5:00.

I had an memorable dream a couple of weeks ago that I didn’t tell you about because I seemed  to be forcing a lot of my nighttime affairs on you at that time, but this one is very short and sweet, literally. I dreamed that I owned a beautiful orchard of grapes. Yes, I know grapes don’t grow on trees in orchards; they grow on vines in vineyards. But grapes growing on trees was not the only curiosity in this dream. When I plucked one off of a tree and bit into it, it had a delicious, creamy center, like you find in chocolates sometimes. Oh Lordy, wouldn’t that be neat?

We’re having baked cod tonight. There isn’t much flavor in cod unless you batter it and deep fry it, but we’re not doing that. A smear of olive oil, a squirt of lemon and a slight run-in with a salt shaker will have to suffice. I must rope in this voracious appetite. It isn’t emotional eating or compulsive eating or some other sympathetic disorder that’s responsible for my situation. I’m hungry. I swear, I’d think I was on steroids if I didn’t know better. I’ve decided that I don’t eat enough protein, and the little protein I do eat isn’t spread out through the day. I’m a carb girl. :/

Oh, there’s the train. That distant whistle is one of my favorite things about living here. It’s time for coffee. Light is leaking around the blinds. I hope to paint another section of rail on the porch today if it doesn’t rain. If it rains, I’ll just sit on the porch and watch it with a good book and a cup of hot tea. Isn’t that what Saturdays are for?

 

