Porch Sitting and Book Listening

by Bella Rum

imageI finally found something I excel at. I spent all day Saturday and all day Sunday right here, reading (listening) to my book club selection, Donna Tartt’s Pulitzer-Prize winning The Goldfinch. It’s a coming-of-age story, and has been described as Dickensian. I didn’t care for the first half. It was excruciatingly detail-oriented and molasses-going-up-hill slow. I started to think she wanted to show the reader how many ways she could describe a thing or place.  It got tiresome after a while, but the characters were convincing and complicated. There was a good story here, but the first half wanted a red-penned editor. Says one who never won a Pulitzer Prize or described eyes as gooseberry gray, or orchids as ghost white, bruised magenta or corpse mold (what color is corpse mold).

The pace picked up in the second half, and I’m now in the fourth quarter. I have to admit that I’m interested. I’m enjoying it now. I want to know what happens. So, if you can wade through the first three-hundred pages… It’s kind of like marriage; if you can make it until the kids leave home, you begin to think it was all worth it. Even with my reservations, I may try one of her other books. I’ve heard good things, and I like me some colorful colors. imageH pulled out the ladder and moved the bird feeders back up to the porch for me. I don’t remember why I ever asked him to move them to the back of the yard in the first place. I really do remember. I was tired of washing the poop off that flat board on top of the deck railing up there. It seemed like too much of a bother back when I had such a full plate, but now there’s poop-washing space on my plate, and I enjoy the birds so much. They feed the soul so perfectly, don’t they? They’re more than worth the small effort of feeding and watering and poop-washing.

I’ve been making my own hummingbird food. If you’re in to birds, you probably already know this one.

Bummingherd Juice

Bring 2 cups of water to a boil. Add 1/2 cup sugar. Stir until sugar dissolves, and boil for two minutes to remove all icky things from the sugar that could bother the birds. Allow to cool. NO food coloring.

We looked at another house. It was in the neighborhood we like but H didn’t like the back part of the house. There was a deck but it was WAY up in the air. It was one of those houses that is ground-level in the front but very high in the back. It was very small. Still I think it could work, but it was OVERpriced.

All of my photos are now taken with the iPad. My iPhoto on the Mac still will not launch. I’m going to have to break down and take it to the iDoctor, not to be confused with the eye doctor.

 

 

 

