Lemonade for Sale in the Cul-de-sac

by Bella Rum

IMG_7282Some of us sold lemonade in the cul-de-sac this weekend. H and my son moved an old library/sofa table outside, and I covered it with Brand’s Mickey Mouse bedspread from when he was a toddler. That means it’s about 38-years-old. Let’s not discuss why it would still be in the linen closet. I cannot believe it survived all the many purges over the past year or two. The best I can come up with is that Mickey rules, and it makes a good picnic/beach blanket.

After expenditures of $13.00 in supplies: lemonade, cups, cookies, etc., the profit was $3.00. They had so much fun, though. Perfect weather made it a perfect day to spend in dappled shade, watching the kids do all the work and listening to tall tales from my grandson. He scooted over to my lawn chair in between sales and imparted the wildest stories. He described the strangest, most unlikely creatures to me. Some of them had five legs and were a mile long and lived in the desert. Others had huge, round mouths with razor-sharp teeth and dorsal fens as tall as a pine tree. Before each narration, he would say, “Nona, do you believe in…” And then the craziest monologue would begin. He always described the animal or monster in detail, the habitat in which this creature lived and what its potential harm could be. Then he would ask me again if I believed in it. I always told him the same thing. “I don’t know for sure, but anything is possible.” When he tired of this, he moved on to aliens and megalodons and ghost. Can you see a pattern here?

Entertaining the little one, my daughter-in-law drew some of the Frozen characters on the driveway with chalk.IMG_7342~IMG_7346~

Don’t let this one’s big eyes fool you, she’s known by some as Miss Bossypants McGruderkins. IMG_7295We had a great time and then poured ourselves into bed, exhausted and satisfied.

The only thing to mar the weekend was the news of a friend’s death on Friday night. She was not a close, close friend, but she was special. She was only in her fifties. When I lived at Dad’s she would show up with clam chowder or cookies or crab dip. People who become shut-ins are often forgotten by the outside world.  She came in and visited for a bit with Dad and went on her way.   We never seem to forget a kindness that comes when we really need it, do we? She was my kindness when I needed it. A fresh spirit with the sweet face of a sprite, she shared her light with those whose light was fading. I’ve often wondered if people like her, those who share their joy for life, realize how much they touch others.

