Williamsburg

by Bella Rum

IMG_7485Last week, we drove down to Williamsburg for lunch and a little walk about. We ate lunch on the patio at the Trellis. I got the black bean cake, but I can’t remember what H ordered. I’d like to find a good recipe for bean cakes. They’re so good for you, but quite musical… if you know what I mean. I’m surprised H didn’t kick me out of the bed that night. I should have preformed a Dutch oven on him. Do you know what that is? It’s when you poot and pull the sheet over your partner’s head. Never say I didn’t teach you anything. Urban Dictionary is a fountain of information, and who am I to keep it all to myself. We ate at the table to the left of the lady in the pink shirt (or is that a man?), the one that the fellow in the blue shirt is bussing. IMG_7497
This was our view.IMG_7492
Have you ever noticed how often I manage to get a garbage can in my day-trip photos? You’d think it was on purpose, but not so. I think I just have a talent for it, but you don’t keep streets with heavy pedestrian traffic as clean as that one up there without strategic garbage can placement.

We didn’t take the tour. It’s probably been fifteen years since we did that. The last time was when my sister and her husband were visiting. We still lived in MD and drove down to Williamsburg and stayed overnight. I remember that H got a speeding ticket on that trip. We did the tour – the whole shebang. I hadn’t done that since my seventh grade field trip in 1963. I still have my tiny horseshoe with my name on it that the blacksmith made for me. I wonder if they still do that? It was also the first time I ever saw color television. There was a television in a lobby or somewhere that we stopped for a break. I can’t really remember, but the picture was lousy. Everything had a green cast.

I can’t believe that this maple tree is already changing. Our poplar in the back yard is just beginning to turn. It’s always the first.IMG_7504

I noticed only one disheartening thing. It’s been a while since I’ve been into Williamsburg proper. I’ve always loved the timelessness of it, the unchanging nature of it.  Its integrity has been fearlessly protected. I noticed that Chico’s has managed to sneak in the back door. I hope it isn’t the beginning of chain creep.

So that’s our most recent day trip. I’m not sure where we’re going next. We may go up to Annapolis, but we’ll probably stay overnight. I guess that doesn’t qualify as a day trip, but it should be fun. I haven’t been there since we moved. There was a time when you could find me there just about anytime. When we were in MD, we lived only a few minutes away. I’d like to get some photos and eat some sushi at Joss Cafe & Sushi Bar and maybe visit my old neighborhood.

