More Fallout from Home Depot Attack and Autumnal Thoughts

by Bella Rum

home-depot-credit-cardA few days ago, I wrote about my credit card number being stolen (most likely in the latest Home Depot hack), and how the culprits did a little shopping on my dime in Austin, Texas.

Home Depot was hacked with malware disguised as McAfee antivirus software that had some “anti-american inferences in the code.” You probably don’t remember, but a while ago my email account automatically sent a number of emails to addresses in my address book. It contained a link that I’m certain was nefarious.

Yesterday, I received the following email from Home Depot.

Dear Valued Customer,

The Home Depot has discovered that a file containing your email address may have been taken during the payment card breach we announced in September. The file contained email addresses, but it did not contain passwords… We apologize for this incident and for the inconvenience and frustration this may cause you.

In all likelihood this event will not impact you, but we recommend that you be on the alert for phony emails requesting personal or sensitive information…

If you have any questions or would like additional information on how to protect yourself from email scams, please visit our website or call 1-800-HOMEDEPOT.

Again, we apologize for the frustration and inconvenience this incident may have caused. Thank you for your continued support.

Sincerely,

The Home Depot

I love that last line. It’s so optimistic, but I guess they’re not wild about all this either. I don’t shop much at Target, so I wasn’t concerned with their security breach earlier this year, but Home Depot is my boyfriend. It’s true love, and I guess I do support him… literally. After all, a month doesn’t go by that I don’t swipe my card in his machine.

Have any of you been affected? I guess you wouldn’t know unless you are sure that you did NOT use a credit card at Home Depot in the past six or eight months. Then you know you’re safe. I’m still not even sure that our incident was due to the Home Depot breach. We’ll probably never know, but it seems most likely. They sent me a new card with a new account number. Safe for now? Who knows? Your mother was right, the only way to know you’re safe is to practice abstinence.

So, that’s that.

It’s rainy and overcast and cool here today. Fall leaves cover the ground, their former brilliance muted by time and weather, but they remain beautiful in that sophisticated, older lady way. You know they were more beautiful in their prime, but they still hold their original charm. There are plenty left on the trees, but not for long. H swept the deck yesterday, and it’s scattered once again with more leaves.IMG_8139

The brightest color outside my window is my neighbor’s Nandina bush. The berries have deepened in color since I mentioned them last week. They’ve completed their transition from green to bright orange-red. All of us are transitioning all of the time, aren’t we? What about you? Have your colors intensified like the Nandina’s berries or softened like the fallen leaves?

I don’t know about my colors, but my brain has definitely softened. Pupfff.

 

