Uncle Richard’s Sweet Potato Pie

by Bella Rum

IMG_8168Linda of The Task at Hand was kind enough to leave a link to Uncle Richard’s Sweet Potato Pie recipe in the comments section of the post I wrote about looking for a good a sweet potato pie recipe. I didn’t have a dollop of whipped cream to put on top of my pie. I just know my photo would have been much better if I had. If it’s a prettier photo you want, click on the link above. It will take you to Lisa Fain’s Homesick Texan. Her photo is beautiful, but don’t let my photo fool you. The pie was yummy. H especially liked the combination of spices. Here’s the recipe. Thank you Linda, Lisa and Uncle Richard!IMG_8174

Uncle Richard’s Sweet Potato Pie

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups mashed cooked sweet potatoes or one 15 oz. can of mashed sweet potatoes
3 beaten eggs
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp cloves
1/4 tsp nutmeg
3/4 tsp salt
1 2/3 cup evaporated milk (one 12 oz. can)

Method:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees
2. Combine all ingredients in a mixer or blender. (A mixer will leave a few small delectable chunks of sweet potato.)
3. Pour mixture into two nine-inch pie shells (I use my Grandma’s recipe).
4. Bake 55 minutes.
5. Cool before serving. Garnish with whipped cream as desired. Makes two pies.
Uncle Richard’s note: I really enjoy it cold out of the refrigerator the next day for breakfast.

Ginger whipped cream
Ingredients:
1 cup heavy whipping cream
2 tablespoons of honey
1 teaspoon of ground ginger

Method:
In a chilled bowl, beat all ingredients with mixer, whisk or egg beater until soft peaks form.

