Three Days and Counting and Roast Venison Slow Cooker Recipe

by Bella Rum

I’m sick; this is the third day of, nausea but no vomiting, lack of appetite,  chills but no fever, listlessness and stomach pain when I eat anything. I would say it’s a stomach virus, but without the vomiting, diarrhea and  fever, who knows? I don’t believe I ate anything that could have caused food poisoning, and my only experience with food poisoning was so severe that it put me in the hospital. This is lousy, but it doesn’t compare to that. I don’t know what it is, but it can’t seem to let go.

Yesterday, H cooked a venison roast that my brother gave us at Thanksgiving. I was not up to taking photos. These are from his last venison roast. If you like mashed potatoes, this recipe makes a good gravy, but stick to cottage cheese and saltines if you have what I have.

If you’re offended by Bambi in a crock pot, look away.

Roast Venison Slow Cooker Recipe

First, go up to the attic and find your 1970s crock pot that you haven’t used since 1979.slow-cooker

Gather your ingredients.
ingredients-for-slow-cooker-venison

Defrost Roast.Venison- roast

Put your roast in the slow cooker. I deboned it, but I don’t guess you really have to do that.venison-roast-in-slow-cooker

Mix the gravy ingredients together and pour on top of the roast. The recipe did not call for carrots, but what’s a roast without carrots? Note: Next time put the carrots in first, then the roast and dump the soup mixture on top of the whole thing.venison-crockpot

After about six hours in the slow cooker on low setting.venison-gravy-crock-pot

After slicing, it looks remarkably like roast beef, doesn’t it?
venison-mashed-potatoes-carrots

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

Prep Time : 15 minutes

Cook Time: 6 hours

Servings: 6

Ingredients:

3 pounds boneless venison roast

1 large onion, sliced

1 bag of carrots, peeled and cut into 2-inch pieces

2 teaspoons soy sauce

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

Instead of garlic salt, I used 3 cloves of garlic, peeled and sliced

1 1/2 teaspoons salt (you can use garlic salt instead of regular salt if you want, but I just used regular salt since I used fresh garlic.)

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 (1 ounce) package of dry onion soup mix

1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of mushroom soup (If you don’t like mushrooms, use a different cream based soup, but you can’t even taste the mushrooms. In fact, you can’t even find them.)

Directions

1- Peel and slice three or four cloves of garlic. Cut slits in roast with small knife and shove garlic slices into the slits. Put meat in slow cooker, and cover with onion and carrots. Sprinkle with soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper.

2- In a small bowl combine the soup mix and the mushroom soup; mix together and pour mixture over venison. Cook on “Low” setting for 6 hours.

3- About halfway through cooking time, push the carrots down in the liquid.

 

