The Blue Marble

by Bella Rum

blue-marbleImage Credit: NASA

Yesterday, I had to do a lot of running around here and there. I heard some of the news in the car, but it was only bits and pieces. Last night, I finally settled down and found a halfway decent conversation about it all. I listened to as much as I could stand before calling it a day and pulling the covers over my head. It was a very foolish thing to do just before going to sleep.

I’m tired of receiving dismaying information and facts with little perspective, but rather delivered by folks with agendas who use every opportunity to score points over the most soul-jerking details. Can we never have a mature conversation about these horrible things?

I worry that we no longer have the kind of maturity, intellect and spirit of cooperation that will be required if we hope to survive ourselves. We are on the path to so many incredible advances, unimaginable even, in medicine, space and technology. Perhaps we are even on the cusp of greatness, but I worry that our view of what passes for morality and our inability to embrace complexity in the public square will prevent our fingertips from grasping that ball, pulling it tightly into our chests and keeping it safe for humanity.

Sharp Transition Up Ahead

And the Blue Marble keeps turning.

Monday night, we experienced a tiny crack in our personal universe that amounted to nothing, but when it’s your universe, it matters. Somehow my son or DIL realized that we had gotten the wrong video game. No, that’s not right. It was Skylanders Trap Team Starter Pack. Do you have any idea what that is? This thing has a different version for at least three different systems: Wii, Xbox 360 or Xbox One. It’s not universal. It’s only compatible with one system or the other.

I don’t have a clue about what’s what. I just know that all of the packaging looked identical except for a few small letters in the corner of the box that denoted system compatibility. H pulled one from the shelf and put it in the cart. Wha’da we know? Of course, it was the wrong one. We needed the ‘Xbox One’ version, but we got the ‘Wii’ version. Are you still awake?

Catastrophe averted! I ordered the correct one on Amazon. It even turned out to be a good thing. It was on sale for $25 less and free shipping. I returned the other one to Toys”R”Us yesterday when I had to go over to that side of town anyway. I love it when a plan comes together. Can you imagine Christmas morning if that thing didn’t work with his system? Earth’s axis would shift.

We used the fireplace yesterday and three of my pretty, striped pillar candles had a meltdown. Trivial, right? How about this? Someone stole the flowers out of my doggie’s basket. Well, I thought they did until H found them out in the yard where the wind had blown them. But listen to this. My personal property taxes went up from almost nothing to over $400 because of the new car. Uh, huh. That stinks, doesn’t it?

All things considered, none of this stuff is so bad. Everyone is reasonably healthy and happy. And I got the correct video game thingie. No dead animals in the yard.

All we have to do is look both ways before crossing the street, and all will be well. Isn’t that right?

