Won’t You be My Neighbor

by Bella Rum


IMG_5666_3There are two houses that have been up for sale in the cul-de-sac since late October; there have been no offers to date. I believe one of them will have to consider making a serious cut in the asking price. The other has bad timing and should wait another month or two. I’m so glad we told our Realtor to stop looking for a house for us until March. I was afraid we’d find the perfect house and have to put our house on the market during the holidays. That was not going to happen. And who buys a house in December? About two people, and they live in the North Pole: newlywed elves looking for a home sweet igloo.

Our Realtor is pushy. I’m not in love with her.  She insisted that while there may be fewer buyers during the holidays, they are more serious than those, apparently, flighty spring and summer buyers. You know what’s going on here? She doesn’t get much business this time of year and figured she could push a little and maybe we’d cave. Not going to happen.

One of the houses up for sale belongs to to Ted. If you want the backstory on Ted, you will find it ‘Here” and ‘Here‘. The short story is that his wife had Alzheimer’s disease. He cared for her at home for years, and she finally died a little over a year and a half ago. Ted has met a woman. They have moved into another house, and Ted is selling his house in the cul-de-sac. It’s situated down there on the curve of the cul-de-sac. When they bought that house, I think Ted probably thought that he and Linda would live there the rest of their days. Life decided not.

Life is one irreverent and mercurial witch sometimes. She can be cruel and merciless and then change on a dime. One day you have ‘it’ all and the next it’s gone, and then you get ‘it’ all back or something that closely resembles it. It looks like life is smiling on Ted these days, and it couldn’t have happened to a better guy. I just hope his house sells soon and for the asking price. He deserves it. The neighborhood will miss him.

I cleaned my house yesterday or parts of it anyway. It’s a little early to clean it for the holidays. It will probably need another cleaning before the kids arrive, but I’ll be darned if I’m going to do it. Their bathroom is clean and we hardly ever use it so it’s good enough, and ‘good enough’ is what matters to me these days. I’m so over perfect. I left perfect in the dust two years ago, and I don’t give a hoot if I ever see it again.

I’m going to make a couple of cakes for the neighbors this morning and finally wrap the last of the stocking stuffers. Whew! I will grocery shop and cook this holiday. That I will do, but the cards are in the mail, the house is reasonably clean unless you’re a fanatic, and all the decorating is done that’s going to get done.

This year, I did exactly the amount of decorating that I wanted, and I did it joyfully, especially the Grand Trio’s room. The simplicity of that room is the beauty of it. I turn the tree on every night and look in each time I walk by. The tree lights cast shadows on the ceiling that look like snow, and the flakes are so pretty. They will love it. I can’t wait for them to see it, and they won’t care if Nona cleaned every corner of the house or not. You know?

 

 

