Spatchcocked Chicken and a Recipe for Barbecue Sauce

by Bella Rum

I have to get lab work every  month (INR a.k.a. PT) to check the consistency (thickness/thinness) of my blood. I went a little early this month because I’ve eaten more salads than usual. I usually get the bag or box of mixed lettuces, and there are always a few baby spinach leaves in there, and several varieties of lettuce that also have some vitamin K. Vitamin K thickens the blood. No thick blood for this girl. I’m interested to hear the results when Nurse Debbie calls from my doctor’s office today.

The way they take my blood seems archaic. They use the needle in the arm method, and you have to wait at least 24 hours for the results. At my last doctor’s office they did it in the office with a nifty little gadget (similar to the one diabetics use to check blood sugar) that pricked the tip of my finger and displayed the results digitally within seconds. That enabled them to change the dosage immediately, if necessary. He would not use an INR reading that was older than 24 hours because it could be inaccurate by then. Then they gave me a fancy printout that showed what my INR reading was and what my dosage should be for the following month and the date of my next appointment. It was “INR for Dummies.”

After I finished up at the hospital, I went to the grocery store. We’re making barbecued chicken – spatchcock style – tonight. I chose a chicken that had “All Natural” (whatever that means) splashed across the packaging. It also had the color green on the packaging – to evoke feelings of freshness and naturalness and country breezes, I presume.

I read three blogs authored by people who raise chickens, and I can’t get enough of it. They make me daydream of moving to the country and building a coop. My neighbors have barking dogs, why can’t I have chickens and a crowing rooster? Did you know that you can buy coop kits now? Yes, I googled it. Wouldn’t it be nice to have fresh eggs? H’s parents raised chickens and always had fresh eggs. Anyway, I’m not going to put a coop in the backyard. It’s only a fantasy, like being a second-story man, which is more about voyeurism than stealing jewels and art. It’d be cool to see the latest color scheme in the bedroom or the new bathroom remodel.

My brain goes traipsing down alleyways that lead to a lot of blathering. Sorry.

I haven’t made or eaten barbecued chicken in ages. I’m not sure why, but I’ve been wanting it. H made the sauce yesterday. It’s tangy and sweet. It’s good with pork, too. I adapted Tyler Florence’s recipe. Who am I to alter Tyler’s recipe, but his was a tad bit mustardy for my taste buds. This is my version. Tyler’s version also features a rub for pork, in fact the recipe is for ‘Pulled Pork Barbecue‘ but it’s just as suitable for chicken. I used to make pulled pork at Dad’s. He loved barbecue. Who doesn’t?

Cider-Vinegar Barbecue Sauce:

Ingredients

1 cup cider vinegar

¼ cup yellow mustard

¼ cup brown mustard

½ cup ketchup

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

2 garlic cloves, smashed

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon cayenne

¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Instructions

Combine the vinegar, mustard, ketchup, brown sugar, garlic, salt, cayenne, and black pepper in a saucepan over medium heat. Simmer gently, stirring, for 10 minutes until the sugar dissolves.

