Saturday Morning Quiet

by Bella Rum

It’s so quiet in here. All the cul-de-sac people are sleeping. The only interruption to the silence is the soft clicking of the keyboard as I type this, and the cicadas that have taken up residence in my eardrums (tinnitus). Singing away, they are. They never take a break.

H made the barbecued chicken last night and it was good. We had Ina’s Sautéed cabbage with it. It is the simplest recipe in the world – almost not even a recipe. You chop and sauté a head of cabbage in two tablespoons of butter (I used a little less) and add salt and pepper. That’s it. I used to boil my cabbage, and leave half of the nutrients in the water.

I’m having a lot of fun watching H learn to cook. It really is his new  hobby. He was never comfortable in the kitchen, always handing me something from a drawer or cabinet when I asked and doing the dishes occasionally, but that was about it. Now I’m the one handing him the can of tomatoes or paring knife. He’s always looking for new recipes, and I never know what he will come up with next.

I’m thinking of moving my blog. I’ll leave a link when I do.

Have a nice weekend, everybody.

 

