A Messy Messed Up Day

by Bella Rum

 

IMG_9064Tossed Salad and Black Bean-Avocado Salad

Avocados are high in vitamin K, although the amount varies from avocado to avocado. Vitamin K content in guacamole can vary by as much as 40 times. Because avocados can unpredictably alter the PT/INR, it may be best to avoid them. Source: Indiana Hemophilia and Thrombosis Center

I made my monthly INR visit to the lab on Tuesday. Nurse Debbie called yesterday to tell me that my PT/INR was low. My blood was too thick. I guess the Warfarin couldn’t keep up with my recently improved diet. More greens  = more vitamin K = thicker blood. Seldom do I get off track. I’m pretty good at keeping it consistent. She increased the meds. All should improve soon. Of course, I always want to keep it in the target range, but I also want more green in my diet. The modest med increase will help with that.

Yesterday, we had grand plans for a day trip to a nearby historical town that’s only forty-five minutes away. It was raining, but we were not deterred. We got a late start, but not to worry, we only planned to do a little shopping at the outlets, take a few pix (if the rain relented), have lunch and return home. We were listening to the radio when we heard that traffic was being rerouted because of an awful accident. We missed the exit that would have allowed us to avoid all the mess and ended up in a horrible traffic jam.

We sat in traffic for about a half-hour before we got to an exit, but both overflow routes were overwhelmed. We cooled our heels in more traffic. By then it was lunchtime, and we finally decided it would be best to turn around and go home, eat a nice lunch and chill. On the way home, we heard that two tractor-trailers and a car were involved, and at least one person died, and others were taken to the hospital. What a terrible thing.

Before the traffic jam, I noticed this Mini Cooper behind us. She was flying, switching lanes, zipping dangerously around everyone until she finally got behind us, and tailgated us until she blew by us. Then the traffic came to a standstill, and I took this photo of her license plate.

IMG_9291

I BLU BY U

Yes, U did.

Later this morning, I’m off to get my hair cut.

