Old Movies

by Bella Rum


filmI managed to watch a couple of movies this weekend. Can you believe I’d never seen Father of the Bride? Me either, and I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. I never watched it because I didn’t think I would like it. I’m always slow on these things, but come on. It was made in 1991.

You will not believe this next one. Steel Magnolias (1989). This one I had seen, but there it was, and there I was. Remember all of those one-liners? If you don’t have something nice to say, come sit by me. And … An ounce of pretension is worth a pound of manure. But Shelby still died in the end.

I remember Julia Roberts telling a story about Dolly Parton in an interview. While filming the movie, the women lived in their own little houses in the Southern town where it was filmed. One evening, they were sitting on the porch and it was hot – really hot. They were all sweating and complaining about the overwhelming heat, all except Dolly. Curious, Julia asked her, “Dolly, I’ve never heard you complain. Come on. This heat must be getting to you as much as the rest of us.” Dolly replied, “I was dirt poor when I was a kid. All I ever wanted was to be rich and famous. Now I’m both. I got nothing to complain about.” I thought about that when I saw Dolly wearing a sweater in the movie.

Anyway.

We’re off to our small historical town again this morning. Maybe we can actually make it there today without running into traffic or an accident. It’s supposed to be beautiful – 74º and sunny. That’s about as ideal as weather ever gets. I call those days ‘golden days’ or ‘top-ten days’ – one of the top ten most beautiful days of the year. It’s hard to believe that it’s only been ten days since we woke to a snow and ice sandwich. That’s March. It can be cruel or so very benevolent. I like this side of March.

Hope everyone has a great Monday.

