Old Movies, Macs, Sun-Bleached Sofas and Attic Clutter

by Bella Rum

I’m using the iPad so don’t judge me if my spelling and grammar are worse than usual. It isn’t easy to see what I’m writing and that autocorrect oughta be shot.

I made like a vegetable yesterday. It was wonderful. I don’t know how some people stand constant activity, going from one thing to the next without a moment to reflect. I have a friend and a cousin who thrive on that way of living — not so much thinking but constantly doing. I always think they must accomplish a lot outwardly, but what about internally? They are both enormously successful. So there’s that.

I watched an old movie, “Stanley and Iris.” Jane Fonda teaches a man, Robert De Niro, to read, consequently, changing the course of his life and then her’s. Reading is a powerful thing. ย Punctuation is really swell, too, but I missed the memo. I wish I’d paid attention ย that day.

We couldn’t get an appointment with the Mac geniuses until this afternoon. I hope they can breathe life into my poor baby. I love that machine. It was wonderful to me for a very long time.

I enjoy interior decorating, and have been daydreaming about it. The opportunity to ‘do’ a new house is exciting. We’ve never owned a rancher. This will be different.

I’ve decided to keep my sun-bleached family room sofa. I like its comfort and style. It was left uncovered those years we were at Dad’s. The light poured through the full-length window in the backdoor. A simple shade would have saved the couch, but I had other things on my mind. By the time we returned home, it was ruined, and one of the springs broke when a friend’s little boy jumped on it. It’s large and L-shaped, two things that do not lend themselves to versatility. Since we were looking for a smaller house, I wasn’t sure if it would fit in the new space. It will. Now I have to find someone who does re-upholstery work. For nothing more than its comfort, it’s worth saving.

More packing is on the agenda today, and another trip to Goodwill. We took a load from the attic a couple of days ago. Most of today’s load came from the attic, too. One of those big galvanized metal tubs and an old trunk are among the rejects today. I do not want to fill the new, harder-to-access attic with stuff that will never be seen again until my son and DIL clean it out for resale. I’d say we’ve reduced the contents of this attic by about 90%. I’d like to get it down to a few large things like my crab pot, which I would keep within easy reach at the top of the pull-done stairs, and things that I only use once a year – seasonal decorations, etc.

The date for the home inspection on this house is April 20. Fingers crossed.

That’s all for today.

 

