Moving on a Prayer

by Bella Rum

Yesterday, we found our mover. Marlene recommended a local company. She couldn’t say enough good things about the owner, both professionally and personally. She mentioned that he was African American and very religious.

He sent the nicest young man to do the estimate. He was nothing like the guy from Allied. There was no hard sell, and he gave us a flat rate on the spot, and it was reasonable. He told us right off the bat that they were a Christian based business, which I already knew,  but he did surprise me when he said that the movers would arrive early and gather together and pray before  starting. Just to make it clear, I do not care what religion my movers are or if they are religious at all. It’s just that I haven’t had this experience, and I knew that I would tell you about it as soon as I wrote a new post. The owner called us a couple of hours later and we locked in our date. When Marlene’s mother became ill and had to move closer to her children, this company moved her possessions down a mountain in a snow storm. Marlene was very impressed with them, so hopefully we’ve found ourselves a good mover. I feel good about it.

Today is for packing, making an appointment to meet the floor sander at the new house for an estimate, and getting insurance set up for the new house. We’ve been thinking about shopping around for a new insurer for our car and house anyway. I think we’ve been paying too much. What’s new?

Oh, and the termite inspection is today.

My doctor was thrilled with my weight. I’ve lost twenty pounds now. It’s been slow and pretty easy because I haven’t starved myself. I believe I started January 6. I hope to reach or come close to my goal sometime in autumn. That’s plenty of time and doesn’t put any pressure on me. I don’t do pressure these days.

Now, after I just bragged about my weight loss, I have to tell you about my recent indulgence. I’ve gotten hooked on Cabot’s extra-sharp cheddar grilled cheese sandwiches on a grainy bread. I get the block cheese, not slices, and shave it. I found a bread at Krogers that I use. Sometimes I manage to get over to Fresh Market (not lately) for their spelt bread. Yum! I only use one slice of bread because the slices are big and oblong. So, technically, I only have a half sandwich. I also have a bowl of one of Progresso’s one-point soups with it. It’s comforting and delicious. I wish I could eat cheese everyday.

That’s all for today. Stay tuned.

