Too Much for this Girl

by Bella Rum

image

H shot this photo of the pasture behind the new house with the iPad. It was a rainy and overcast day. Can you see the horse?

We marked a lot off our list yesterday, but it was a little too much for me. I’m goal oriented, and I had a vision in my mind of what I wanted to accomplish. I pushed hard until 1:00. H helped me go through a couple of kitchen cabinets in the morning, making a Goodwill pile as we worked. Then he disappeared upstairs to make an appointment with the floor sander, and, more importantly, to get insurance on the new house. He got new car insurance while he was at it, both at a  considerable savings. We went with USAA. It’s for veterans, active duty and relatives of…

Getting the insurance squared away was time-consuming. I was left to my own devices. I accomplished a lot, but I was exhausted by the time I finished. I packed everything that was left in the dining room. The auctioneer will send someone to take the dining set away next week.

I’m waiting until after the home inspection to remove decorative items, and that includes things hanging on the walls, sitting on furniture: lamps, pictures, vases, etc. I want the house to look like it did when the buyers made the decision to buy it. No buyer’s remorse. We’ve seen them riding by to check it out. Dreaming and planning, no doubt.

The termite inspector arrived before 2:00. He gave us a clean bill of health. We thought that would be the case, because H had already looked for the telltale tracks and found nothing. The inspector  said that 19 out of 20 houses in our community have no termites. Isn’t that something? This area has no dearth of termites. All you have to do is lift the concrete tray for the downspout or turn over a rock and you see them wiggling around. Gross! H thinks the houses were probably treated when they were built. Interesting.

I was entirely wiped out by this time, but it was time to meet Marlene and the floor sander at the new house for an estimate. I was not in a position to make any decisions by this point. I just wanted to lie down, watch something mindless on television and drift slowly and mercifully into a coma. And that’s pretty much what I did.

I’m off to get my hair cut later this morning. Some things take precedence even when in extremis. H will mow the grass while I’m gone. Today will not be as crazy as yesterday. No worries, there will still be plenty to do, but it will not be over-the-top crazy. But this weekend, just when we’re on a roll, we will have to stop. I’d like for the house to be clean (at least a path from the front door to the back) for the home inspection on Monday. Was it only a week ago that it was so perfect? You should see it now. It looks like a bomb went off. Still… I’m in a good place. It will all be worth it.

 

