No Rest for the Wicked

by Bella Rum

Insomnia must be contagious. When I woke to go to the bathroom at 3:00 am, I saw a light in the office. I wandered down the hall, and there was H. There was a box on the floor in front of him. He was pulling owner’s manuals out of it. I saw a stack of them on the credenza. I asked him what he was doing. “Getting all the ‘owner’s manuals for the buyers.” I didn’t ask him why he was doing it in the middle of the night. I knew. I returned to bed and slept like a baby. Quite a reversal.

Last night, I dreamed that I was trying to put eye drops in my eyes. The little droplet would come to the end of the dropper. I could see the tiny bubble hanging there, but it would not drop into my eye. I read a blog (Hi, Jean) last night that mentioned dry eyes. My subconscious must have glommed onto the idea and turned it into something frustrating. I think I work out a lot of frustrations in my dreams.

Yesterday, we went to Home Depot for more boxes and stopped by Food Lion for more goat cheese. I think (hope) we can safely say that the other one is not in the car. I believe the cashier put it in a separate bag, and it was left in the store.

I packed a couple of boxes. H worked in the garage and made phone calls and set up appointments for all manner of things.

We authentisigned our response to the home inspection, and told Marlene to send it to the buyers’ agent. We agreed to correct everything exactly as they wanted, but we did tell them that H corrected the low water pressure in the master bath by removing one of the water-saving filters instead of paying a plumber “$300.” The $300 was the inspector’s estimate for a licensed plumber to do it. We also asked them to sign off on H replacing the exact same exhaust fan in the guest bath for $14 instead of getting a licensed electrician for the inspector’s estimate of $300. I was wrong the other day when I wrote that his estimate was a mere $200 for the fan. It took less than three minutes for H to remove the faulty one and less than three minutes for him to put the new one in and less than 3 seconds to plug it in. They accepted our two deviations without qualms.

I’m just happy that they are not backing away from the sale because of the fungi. I’ve read a lot about it, and it is not uncommon for a buyer to walk away, or ask for a huge credit. They seem to be reasonable, and the seller of the house we bought seems the same. H wouldn’t even request correction of any of the things our home inspector found on our new house except the lamp post, which turned out to be minor. It’s ridiculous: $50 to replace a washer in the kitchen sink, $1000 for caulking a few windows, etc. We could have nickled-and-dimed her to death. This is why selling and buying a home is so stressful. I agree that the home inspector earned his money from the buyers of this house. Mold is serious. While I’m not thrilled about paying for its removal, it is a reasonable requirement. I do not, however, think we should be liable after we pay for the treatment. They need to keep an eye on their own house.

The buyers’ inspector said that our roof, which I was so concerned about, has about three years of life in it. So we’re throwing the roof money at fungi instead. It’s only money. Right? I try not to think of it as new countertops for the new house.

