Dropping Stitches

by Bella Rum

H’s stitches were removed yesterday and all is well. He’s still a little swollen and his smile is pitifully lopsided. His doctor said it would take four to six weeks for all of it to go away. The inside stitches have to dissolve.

I have to go to my poke-in-the-eye doctor this morning. My appointment is at 11:45 am, smack dab in the middle of the day. I hate appointments in the middle of the day. They ruin productivity in the morning and afternoon. Next week I have to go to my cardiologist. I cannot believe I managed to choose two doctors’ appointments that fall in the two weeks before moving. Of course, I didn’t know that when I made them. I tried to change one of them, but they didn’t have an another opening until September. Can you believe it? I’m going to check again today to see if someone canceled.

Yesterday, H filled my car and his truck with another load of garage stuff, and we made another trip to the new house. I think his entire garage will be transplanted after a couple more trips. We would have finished it yesterday if he hadn’t had the doctor’s appointment.

I want to go to the grocery store to get a few things to take to the new house. I need to get some healthy eats over there or I’ll start eating fast food, and you know what a slippery slope that is. Well, maybe that’s not a slippery slope. Maybe fast food is at the bottom of the slope. I took yogurt over yesterday, and I made a chickpea salad for today. I have to get shelf paper on my next trip to the store. It would be nice to line the shelves and drawers before moving day. There’s a Food Lion that’s only a mile from the house, and Kroger’s isn’t much further.

That’s about it for today. The painting begins tomorrow.

