Gross and More Talk About Shelves

by Bella Rum

Thursday:

I’m sitting in H’s dermotologist’s waiting room. He’s getting two more basal cells removed. They are on his back and side this time. A few minutes ago, only a few feet from me, a boy who appeared to be about nine-years-old refused to go into the doctor’s office when it was his turn. His father tried to coax him, but no deal was struck. The boy was on a small settee. When the father became sterner in his request for the boy to get up and get a move on, the boy went limp and curled up on the settee in a fetal position with an obstinate expression on his face. The father got down on his knees and tried gentle coaxing again. I don’t know what his final words were, but the boy finally and reluctantly agreed.

Next Day: Friday

Yesterday was a long day. We left the house at 9:15 am. Before we went to H’s doctor’s appointment, we made another trip to Goodwill, and then we stopped by a local grocery store that makes great birthday cakes and ordered a cake for my son and DIL and myself. I put all three names on it. We will celebrate all of our birthdays tomorrow. We were in the middle of the move on my birthday.

After the doctor’s visit, we went to our favorite farmer’s stand and then to the grocery store and another store, and finally filled the car with gas and returned home at 4:30 pm. Whew!

We filled our cart at the grocery store, and then went to the garden center to get a few things. They have a register so I asked an employee if he could check us out there. As soon as I put all my food on the counter, I thought better of it. Who would get their food checked out at the register in the garden center. You have to know  that every manner of fertilizer, weed killer, potting soil, etc. are dragged over that register and counter. Who knows when they last washed it? Then the chicken breasts sprouted a leak, and chicken juice poured all over the counter. What’s more toxic than that? The kid grabbed a paper towel and sloshed half of it on the floor as he partially wiped it away.

H double bagged them to keep them from anointing the rest of the groceries. When I got home, I started removing the chicken breasts as more chicken juice poured down my kitchen sink. I wrapped each one in plastic wrap and put them in a zippered bag. When I finished, I felt like I’d taken a bath in chicken juice. As I pulled the last breast from the package, I realized there was something else in the bottom of the bag: a package of bacon and a package of hotdogs (yes, I’m giving my grands hotdogs and BLT’s). They were both slick with chicken juice. I had to wash the packages off with soapy water and dry them with a paper towel. Gross!

We have another load to take to the dump. Ridiculous, I know, but I’m on a tear to get our possessions down to what we need and love. I will not allow my stuff to own me ever again. We’ll probably find a few more things as time goes on, but I think this will be our last full load. We gave all of that Christmas garland we used to string around the porch to Goodwill. We won’t have any use for it here. A a few wreaths should do the job. I gave them a lot of Christmas ornaments, too. I bet Goodwill gets more Christmas decorations than they can shake a stick at.

IMG_9627I finished the pantry… for now. I like it more than I thought I would. H really liked it from the beginning. We had a very little closet that acted as a pantry. It was nothing like the pantry my mother-in-law had. I liked the new one, but I was more excited about the laundry room. I never had a laundry room. After H added more shelves, I realized there was space for my large platters and crab pot, etc. I got a little more excited.

If I could give only one space-saving tip, it would be shelves! Simple shelves of any kind will clean up and organize enormous amounts of junk. It’s kind of… dare I say it…. amazing. They have enabled us to keep everything in this house that we really needed or wanted to keep. Our attic will still contain a little of the overflow, but no one wants a Christmas tree in their living room all year.

Of course, if you could see this office/dining room, you’d scoff and call me delusional. We are going to make it an office. We do not need a formal dining room. We gave away our office and dining room furniture, and I’m using an old drop-leaf table for now. This room is the last mountain to climb. We cannot do anything in here yet. It’s completely open, and we want to close at least one wall, definitely the one that faces the foyer, and maybe the wall that opens to the family room. We wouldn’t completely close that one, but we’d create a double door with pocket doors that could remain open to allow light into the family room or close for privacy. Then we need bookshelves with cabinets on the bottom. That should do the job of containing what remains to be contained.

