Painting and Picture-Watching and Friends

by Bella Rum


IMG_9737I’m having a hard time keeping up with my blog buddies. We’ve been so busy, and I tend to do things that need doing before the things I enjoy doing. It’s the way I’m built, so I’m hitting and missing at playing catch-up.

I keep thinking things will slow down, but then I look at a window that needs curtains or a picture that needs hanging or another room that needs painting, and I’m off to the races. And it must be said that I enjoy these things, too, especially the results. I keep saying that I’m going to take a break, but I sit for a couple of minutes, and then I think of something else that needs doing. We’ve been going guns blazing for over a month, but we still haven’t gotten to the yard. It will have to wait until autumn for any serious work. Until then, we will maintain what’s there.

In the evening, we’ve been watching some good movies and series. My DIL put Netflix and Amazon Prime on our television. They have it, and she added it for us. Do you remember Joan Crawford in Mildred Pierce? Kate Winslet stars in the miniseries remake; it has five episodes. I enjoyed it. I also found a series that I missed on television, Extant. Astronaut Molly Woods, played by Halle Berry, returns from pregnant from a thirteen-month solo mission in deep space. I sometimes enjoy science fiction. I found the first season on Amazon Prime and coerced H into watching it with me. The second season begins July 1 on CBS. I also found all the seasons of Downton Abbey. Yes, I am the only person left who has not watched Downton Abbey. I’m looking forward to it. You’ll find me eating bonbons and binge watching this winter.

We started painting our bedroom yesterday, and should finish it today. It’s the easiest room so far. We started with the biggest rooms, and we’re working our way down to the smallest. Again, that’s the way I’m built. H doesn’t care where he begins or ends. It’s all the same to him. “It all has to be painted, so who cares?” Not a wall in this house has seen a lick of paint in fifteen years. Everything is as it was the day the builder walked out the door. But you know we’re painting fools, always have been. So it’s all good.

We had friends over for dinner on Friday night. It was so much fun. We’ve had a break from the heat for three or four days, and it was a beautiful evening. We sat outside on the patio after dinner and talked and talked; first with wine and then with coffee. It was so satisfying: relaxing and rejuvenating at the same time.

So I’m off to help with painting the bedroom. I just have a little more cutting-in to do on the second coat, and H will begin the roller work. I’ve already picked up the curtains from the cleaners. They are the same ones I had in the other house. I had to buy new rods because we had to leave everything that was attached in the other house. Too bad. I bought the exact same rods.

Happy Monday.

