Food, Phones and Frustration

by Bella Rum

IMG_9791While we were out and about yesterday, we stopped by our favorite farmer’s stand. I bought plums, tomatoes, cucumbers, new potatoes, and an eggplant – all local and all delicious. We made eggplant parmesan for dinner with a small side of pasta and some marinated cucumbers. The eggplant was beyond delicious. It truly was. I know I have to get back on my diet, but I’m not there yet. Obviously.

H and I have arrived in the twenty-first century. We finally got smart phones yesterday. H has wanted to ditch our granny phones for ages. We finally made the time to spend a tedious (to me) hour at Verizon. I’m not such a lover of cell phones, and I seldom use them. I have to admit that it will be nice to have my books on the phone instead of taking that tablet everywhere I go. And I might like some of the apps. I can think of two already: flashlight, magnifier. Maybe now I’ll be able to read a menu in a dimly-lit restaurant. Feel free to give me tips on apps.

The kids are coming this weekend. I think I’ll make baby back ribs. They are so delicious. I’ll make a big tomato and cucumber salad (the tomatoes are so good), and maybe a vegetable tian. I have the best recipe for vegetable tian. I bet all vegetable tian recipes are good if you have fresh ingredients. How could it be otherwise?

Frustration

I finished the bench yesterday. I did it early, but it sprinkled for a few minutes in the afternoon. It was such a beautiful morning: sunny, low humidity, and in the eighties, perfect for outdoor painting. No rain in the forecast. Then it rained. I have before-and-after pictures, but they won’t upload. Why? Who knows?

