Poor Jud is Daid

by Bella Rum

On Friday, when I was in the middle of preparing for the kids’ visit, I started feeling hot. I told H that the AC wasn’t working. I always feel it first. If the temperature in a room rises one or two degrees, I know it. After a little reconnoitering, H checked the circuit breaker. It had tripped, and when he tried to flip it back, it would not hold. We called our AC company, and John gave us the bad news. It was dead, as in never coming back, shovel dirt over it and keep moving forward. Life is for the living, and all that.

It will be two to three weeks before they can install a new one. Three weeks?! We bought a window unit that we will sell as soon as the new one is up and running. We will recover some of our money, and someone will get a great deal. It’s well worth the price in this heat. It was 98º on Saturday and Sunday, and the humidity and air quality was horrible. There were heat and air quality advisories. My DIL told me that she comes from the land of no AC, but it’s nice to have it. I told her that I come from the land of no AC, too, but I’ve gotten used to it, and I like it.

Good news on the price of the new AC. When we first had problems with the old AC, H decided to get the  “Gold” maintenance plan because of the AC’s age. It allowed for 20% off of a new unit. So we got a reasonable price. Our next-door neighbor, Mickey, told H that theirs died last year. She said that they would like to have us over for dinner one evening. Her husband’s name is Ray.

We had a wonderful weekend. The kids had a blast. We bought a small, blow-up swimming pool at Target before they arrived, and one of those long strips of plastic that kids run, dive and slide on. They loved it. They are accustomed to a pool, but I think they liked the novelty of the little one. They played until they were exhausted, and then played some more. We also got a badminton/volley ball set. My son put it up in the front yard. They enjoyed that, too. I don’t know how they played in that heat. I think a croquet set is next. Won’t that blow their minds?

IMG_9840There was a tea party in the pool.
IMG_9852~Version 2~

And just when we thought all the fun was over, look who came to say good-bye on Sunday afternoon.
IMG_9875~IMG_9876

I thought the three-year-old would burst with excitement.
IMG_9888

She loves chocolate. On Sunday morning, she managed to get H to give her some. She knows to ask him because he’s powerless to say no. When I saw her stash of silver-wrapped Kisses, I asked her how many she was going to share with me. I wish you could have seen the mixture of confusion, consideration and indecision that played across her face as she deliberated. What a dilemma. A two-year-old would probably have said, “None.” When it comes to sharing and resisting temptation, two-year-olds aren’t quite there yet. They are learning the difference between right and wrong, but they usually don’t have the maturity to resist temptation yet. When my son was two, I found him pulling every book out of the bookcase and tossing them on the floor. The entire time he was doing it, he was repeating to himself, “No, no, no.” He knew he shouldn’t do it, but he couldn’t resist the temptation.

That year between two and three makes a difference. They become more aware of others and their feelings and what is right and wrong. After a minute of painful consideration, she looked at me and said, “One. Later.” I could hardly resist laughing at her anguish. She clearly knew that she should share with me, but she just as clearly didn’t want to. I said, “Okay, later.” I never mentioned it again. Later in the day, about an hour before they left for home, she walked up to me with an unwrapped Kiss.  She said, “This is for you, Nona.” I thanked her. About five minutes later, she brought another one to me. I was impressed.

