A/C Update and a Recipe

by Bella Rum

I started drinking my coffee at 6:30 this morning. It’s after 9:00 now, and I’m still on the second half of that cup (I only drink one cup). I had a few things to do this morning… like shower, brush my teeth, and other interesting things before the A/C guys arrived. They got here at 8:00, and they’re installing it today. They originally told us there would be a two or three-week wait. It’s only been about eleven days. I’m a happy camper. In spite of the unwanted expense, we shouldn’t have to worry about A/C or heat issues for another 12 years. That’s something.

We had a terrible wind/thunderstorm last evening. It blew the ferns over, and knocked big limbs out of trees. It was interesting to stand in the kitchen and watch it roll in. I love how this house feels like it’s in the middle of a nature preserve, and the windows make it feel like we’re living in a tree house.

We went to a play at a local theater on Sunday. Our son and his wife gave me a gift certificate for my birthday last year. I can’t believe we just got around to using it. It was Neil Simon’s 1969 play, The Last of the Red Hot Lovers. What fun it was? I’m always impressed at the talent found in these small theaters. They put their hearts into it.

Here’s a tasty recipe for you: roasted potatoes drizzled in olive oil and tossed in garlic, Italian seasonings and Parmesan cheese. What could be bad about that?

IMG_9921I decreased the olive oil at the beginning of the recipe to one tablespoon (trying to reduce calories and it really doesn’t need that much), then I drizzled a little more after the first 30 minutes. If you don’t like spicy, you can omit the red pepper flakes. We like spicy! I served them with barbecued chicken that H cooked on his new grill. We loved them, and have already made them again, even though I had to heat up the oven and… well, you know… our A/C woes and all.

Italian Roasted Garlic & Parmesan Potatoes

brought to you by Cinnamon & Spice and Everything Nice

It has taken me forever to finish this post. I’ve been up and down all morning. It’s after 11:00 am.

