End of Summer Stuff, Hair Fail, Movie Review

by Bella Rum

We sat outside on the patio last night. It was such a beautiful fall evening. The air was crisp and fresh. Even though it isn’t officially fall, it sure feels like it. It was only around 70º and the humidity was very low. The horses didn’t make an appearance, but the geese did. They flew over the treetops and landed in the pasture.
IMG_0081We were late in hanging the hummingbird feeder this year. I’ve heard two opposing views about the right time to take it down. One says to take it down at the end of August or early September so the birds won’t stay around too long, robbing them of precious time to make their arduous journey south. The other says to leave the feeder up as long as possible. Even though your birds may leave earlier for warmer climes, birds that are farther north will stop by for a little nourishment on their way south. I looked it up and the latter is suggested. So it will stay, and we will be entertained for awhile longer. They are delightful birds. We watch as the sun goes down and they become silhouetted against the sky, tiny cigars with wings, busy, busy, always busy. One of them hovered in front of my face last week, his diaphanous wings beating the air with such gusto. If we could learn to harness that kind of power, our energy problems would be solved. I guess they are so sociable because they know they can move ridiculously fast.

Movie Review Robyn

Robyn with her camel Zeleik: Rick Smolan photographer

I watched a very good movie, Tracks. It’s about Robyn Davidson’s 1700-mile trek across the Australian desert from Alice Springs to the Indian Ocean with only four camels and her dog for company. Over the 9-month journey, Rick Smolan met her a few times along the trail to photograph her journey for National Geographic. It’s the best movie I’ve seen in awhile. I’m not much on reviews, so I’ll just tell you to give it a try if you get the chance. I, of course, watched it on Netflix. It’s been around since 2013.

I color my own hair, and I do a pretty good job but… BUT… I finally made a misstep. My hair has always been red with blondish highlights. When it started going gray, I let it go. I didn’t mind it, but I eventually changed my mind. A few years ago, I finally decided to try to color it myself. I bought this.loreal-ginger-red

L’Oreal (6.4) Ginger Twist

And I end up looking exactly like her. Okay, that’s a lie. However, the picture on the box is a pretty accurate representation. It’s a deep auburn, but it comes with a blond-ish highlighter. I put the highlighter closer to the roots than demonstrated in the photo on the box. I’m not into the patchy look. This much cheaper than getting it professionally colored. With my $5 CVS coupon, I usually pay about $13.00 unless I catch it on sale. Then it’s even less. My hair grows slowly, so I only color it about every three months.  Anyway. I’ve done this for a few years, and I’ve never been unhappy with the results… until yesterday. It was horrible. Half of my head was highlighted and the other half was deep auburn. It reminded me of my neighbor’s dog when I lived in Maryland. His name was Patches. That should give you an idea of how bad it was. The back looked fine, but the front… Oh, my gosh. It was horrible. I don’t know what I did. I guess I didn’t put the highlighter on thick enough. I will never make that mistake again. I had to waste money (except it wasn’t really a waste, it was a necessity) on more highlighter.  It was not L’Oreal’s fault. It was a clear case of pilot error. I was flying this plane. A great product, but be aware that low-level competency is required.

H spent two days on the yard. He cut and bagged the grass (a combination of wire and crabgrass) twice. H had to mow it twice to get it low enough, about an inch. He ended up with 19 garbage bags of clippings. The next day he rented an aerator and aerated the yard several times to break up the vigorous growth of crabgrass. It was a big job.  I keep telling him he’s almost seventy, but he ignores me. Of course, he has about a year and a half before he hits the mark, but I feel that it’s my job to keep reminding him. I’m sure he’ll do the same favor for me when I get a little closer. I have no idea if the grass is going to survive that crabgrass, but H swears it will. If the grass can make if for a couple of months, the crabgrass will die during the winter. That’s the plan, and we’ll have a beautiful lawn come April.

