Frost on the Pasture

by Bella Rum

IMG_0399Frost on the Pasture

So I heard last night that forty-five million lost or stolen passports are floating around out there. Forty-five million! Let’s just take that in for a moment. Breathe.

I’m sure that the lost and stolen passports were already issued passports, not new and blank ones, but still very disturbing. When H was delivering for Expediting, he delivered blank passports occasionally. He would pick up about 60 pallets at Lufthansa Cargo at Dulles. They would put a numbered seal on the truck, and he would deliver the cargo to the Federal Reserve. When he arrived, armed guards opened steel doors. He drove the truck inside. They closed the doors, made him get out of the truck and stand against the wall until they evacuated everyone from the warehouse. The seal was removed from the truck, and the numbered pallets were unloaded and accounted for. Then he was allowed to leave.

Moving on to truly important things.

Forgive me, but I have to tell you about my “other” dream. You can skip this paragraph, but I like to record some of my dreams here. I had it the same night I dreamed the bound-and-hanging-from-the-rafters nightmare. I didn’t remember it until H told me about it. Once he jogged my memory, I recalled it. Two friends of mine were nurturing an egg that would eventually hatch an alien baby (not the kind that needs a passport). A third friend, Maria, was also there. The egg was half black and half white. A man appeared, and it became clear that he was going to adopt the baby alien. He had a request. He wanted to stay and help nurture the egg, he wanted to tell the egg everyday that he loved it. He wanted it to come into the world knowing it was loved. Maria was having none of that. She told him, “NO,” and started pushing him away. I was so mad at her that I picked up something big and threw it at her. When I woke, my pillow was across the room. I watched this video the day before I had this dream. (Maria is one of the most nurturing people I know in my awake life.)

Using a video, I usually walk inside during the warmer months. Mornings have been in the low 30s lately. We woke to frost on the pasture a couple of mornings this week. It was beautiful. I can’t wait to see snow out there. The ferns are slightly damaged but still hanging in there.IMG_0401

I unearthed my Patagonia undershirt that I’ve had  for over twenty-five years – that thing is awesome – and put myself out there in the brisk air. I met another neighbor yesterday, Cathy, and her rescue dog, Daisy. Daisy loved H. Pets and kids always love him, and one old woman. She lives in a ranch in the cul-de-sac that’s straight across from ours. I should have started walking when it was a little warmer. I would have met more people.

We went to lunch at Panera Bread yesterday. As usual, I got the “pick 2” so I could get a half sandwich and small soup. I chose the Frontega chicken Panini and the low-fat vegetarian garden vegetable soup with pesto. The calorie count was 470. Not ideal, but not too bad for eating out. I could have done better, but I really wanted a warm sandwich. I liked it very much. They took my smoked turkey, cheddar, sun-dried tomato sandwich away because it didn’t meet their new “standards” of no additives, etc. Panera watching out for me.

apple-ginger-walnut-pieH made a delicious Ginger-Apple-Walnut Crumble Pie. I found the recipe in Country Living magazine while waiting for the next centipede attack in the bathroom. It was yummy, and if you eat it over the kitchen sink, it’s zero calories. Scientific fact.

