Cyber Monday: A First Time for Everything

by Bella Rum

Well, I’ve gone and done it. I’m no longer a Cyber Monday virgin. For years, I’ve heard about the incredible Black Friday and Cyber Monday sales, especially on electronics (hint). I would never, ever shop on Black Friday. Nothing could get me up and through that door on Black Friday. However, earlier this week I started thinking about a new television and Cyber Monday.

H and I have used a big, old box TV. You know what I’m talking about. The ones that are about two feet deep, weigh a ton, and are not smart in any way. We got it fourteen years ago, when we moved into our last house, and we’d still be using it if the kids hadn’t surprised us with a flat screen about a year ago. We always figured we’d eventually move that one into the bedroom because I’m having trouble seeing the smaller one in there that my brother got for Dad when he was in a long-term care facility. There were rules about the size, so it’s small. Oh, my golly, I’m making this a long story.

Anyway, I shopped the sales and found one that was practically half price. It’s a biggie, and I should be able to see it. We noticed that the site said that it was available for store pickup. So we went over and looked at it in person and came home with it. H hasn’t set it up yet. I’m sure that will present some frustration. Maybe not… but…

So I’ve shopped Cyber Monday for the first time, and this was the first time we’ve actually bought a flat screen. We are so behind the times. I have to say, it was a very good sale. I’m kind of sold on it, Cyber Monday that is. I’ll never shop Black Friday.

I have to pay bills this morning and then I’m going to sprinkle a little Christmas in the kids’ room. Why not? I still have those snowflakes I bought at Dollar Tree last year when I did the Frozen room for them. Remember?kids-snowflake-room
I still haven’t painted their new room or even put curtains in there. I think that will be my first project in the New Year. I’m thinking I’ll update it, make it a little less kids-sie and a little more sophisticated. I’m thinking of finding another iron bed or bringing the full-size pineapple bed down from the attic or in from the garage. I’m not even sure where it is. It probably won’t fit in the attic, so it’s probably in the garage. I’m sure H would like to get it out of there.

Now I’m off to watch a little Morning Joe while I sip my morning joe.

