Waiting

by Bella Rum

IMG_0715I snapped this a few minutes ago (about 3 p.m.) and it really is that dark in here. It’s been this way all day. Rain is pounding on the roof and pouring down the driveway. I’m not completely sure, but I think an ark may be required. We’re supposed to get thunder showers tomorrow (THUNDER SHOWERS?!?) and 80ºF temps (80ºF TEMPS?).  H said the kids will want him to get the swimming pool and water slide out of the garage if there’s a break in the rain. Would you believe me if I told you we have alligators in Virginia now? Alligators! For Pete’s sake. They’ll be walking down 5th Avenue in Manhattan soon. H just came in from trying to get to the mailbox. He said water is standing everywhere.

The lights just flickered. I better find the candles and the old oil lamps. We’ll eat ham and manpower salad if the power goes out, otherwise we’re having eggs tonight. Wouldn’t the kids love it if the lights went out. Flashlights all around and arts & crafts by oil lamplight.

The cheesecake is in the fridge and the manpower salad right beside it. I simmered the giblets along with a carrot and celery this morning to use in the dressing and gravy. I’ll prepare the dressing tomorrow but will not cook it, and the rest will happen on Christmas day.

I’m not excited or anxious. I’m just happy that they will all be here tomorrow. I’ve learned not to take things for granted, so I do not. I’ve always said it, but for so long I really did not get it. I get it now.

Have a good evening and be safe! The ducks will be swimming up to the door soon.

