How Will You Usher in 2016

by Bella Rum

I’ve meant to show this to you.IMG_0720It rained all night and all day for several days.
IMG_0728

I took this photo of my patio a few days before Christmas. The ground could  not hold another drop. 

I don’t have an honest-to-goodness New Year’s post in me. That would take a little contemplation and perspective. I’m still feeling punky and need to be over there on the couch, and that’s exactly where I’m headed in a few minutes. H is feeling better. I (selfishly) am happy about this because it means he can fetch me a hotdog. You know, a metaphorical hotdog: ginger ale, soup, toast, tissues, etc. My buddy.

Yesterday, I managed to do three loads of laundry – mostly sheets and towels – but it took most of the day. I took my time. H helped me fold. He is for taking down the inside decorations today. That’s a little ambitious for me. I’m usually all about taking them down early, but I think I’ll be more “up” for it tomorrow, both literally and figuratively. We’ll see.

It’s been a good year for us. Twenty-fifteen was a year of change and action. We planned a lot, made a lot of decisions and acted on those decisions. Much of it was out of my comfort zone, but most of it turned out well. I have no regrets. We feel fortunate. I have to mention the Grand Trio. As anyone who reads this blog knows, they are the biggest part of our happiness.

I hope 2016 will be as good to us and to you as 2015 was to us. The beginning of the New Year will most probably wash over us while we sleep. What about you? How will you usher in 2016? However you greet the New Year, I wish you peace, health and happiness, friends! May 2016 be kind to us all.

