Snow and Ice Update

by Bella Rum

IMG_0996We’re still here and the snow is still coming down. It was all snow yesterday and all ice overnight, but it’s straight (dry) snow now. Thank goodness. Wet snow and ice are the culprits in bringing down trees and power lines. I’ll be a happy camper if we get through without losing power. We got 7 or 8 inches yesterday and we’re supposed to get 3 to 5 inches today, but there are those around us that received quite a bit more. People have been good about listening to the warnings to stay off the roads, and the authorities and media did a good job of informing folks.

This morning, H noticed that our young, consumer neighbor who lives two doors down had all of his snow toys in the driveway. He loves machinery. His house is back on the market, but it still hasn’t sold.

The vegetable-beef soup is delicious. This morning, I filled a couple of containers for the freezer. I only started freezing extras a couple of years ago. Of course, I’ve frozen things before, but got into it in a bigger way a couple of years ago. It’s so convenient to pull a quick dinner out of the freezer when you don’t feel like cooking or when you don’t feel well. Now I often make extra when I make spaghetti sauce, chili, soup, etc. Even stuffed peppers or meat loaf. It’s so easy.

We have a bazillion little birds hopping around in the backyard. H puts any stale bread that we have and sometimes the heels in the freezer. He put some of it out for the birds this morning, and an ear of corn for those pesky squirrels. H has a bigger heart than I do.

H made a beautiful spinach casserole for me this morning. Oh, my gosh. It’s so good.

