A Spinach Casserole Recipe and Politics – One is Easier to Swallow than the Other

by Bella Rum

Politics

I thought this was interesting. Yesterday, Bob Schieffer said that (I’m paraphrasing) a recent Gallop poll concluded that fewer people call themselves Democrats than at any time in history, and that fewer people identify as Republican than at almost any time in history. He observed that while Republicans are trying to tear their party apart, one Democratic candidate is getting a rousing challenge from someone who never sought any office as a Democrat in his life. He concluded that both parties are fragile, and suggested that they could even splinter.

In other words, Democrats and Republicans are fed up with their parties.

Change of Subject

It snowed most of the day yesterday. Only a few inches stuck, but we decided not to go out. When I watch a chick flick, H is usually doing something in the garage or yard or playing golf, but I got him to watch one with me on Netflix yesterday: I’ll See You in My Dreams (2015) with Blythe Danner and Sam Elliott. It was a simple little film with an uncomplicated plot, good for a snowy day. I liked it… mostly. If I told you the bit I didn’t like, that would be the bit that ruined it for you. But I like Blythe Danner and Sam Elliott. It’s nice that they’re both still kickin’ it. How many of us are left? … who are still kickin’ it, I mean.

Spinach Casserole

I promised a couple of you that I would post H’s spinach casserole recipe. I apologize for taking so long. It’s one of those 1970s recipes. My neighbor who lived across the street gave it to me. Now, this is not a fancy recipe, and it uses Stove Top Stuffing for the topping. Still, it’s tasty. You can make your own bread cubes or stuffing if you wish, but I’m fine with the Stove Top.

Preheat oven to 350F

1 box of Stove Top Stuffing (according to directions)

3 10-ounce packages of frozen spinach

1 16-ounce (2 cups) container of sour cream (I add a little extra to make it creamier)

1 package Lipton dry onion soup mix

1 small can of sliced water chestnuts, chopped into smaller pieces

Cook Stove Top Stuffing according to directions. Thaw spinach in microwave. Squeeze liquid out of spinach. In a mixing bowl, combine spinach, sour cream, soup and chopped water chestnuts. Place mixture in baking dish, top with stuffing and bake at 350F for 40 minutes or until center is hot.

